Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
News & Press: July 2009

BITSAA Scholarships 2008 - 2009

Wednesday, July 22, 2009   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Aalap Tripathy
Share |

BITSAA International is thrilled to announce and congratulate the recipients of the BITSAA International Travel and Tuition Scholarships for the year 2008-2009. BITSAA Scholarships Team created 5 new Tuition scholarships at various BITS Pilani campuses and awarded 5 Travel Scholarships.

The 2008-2009 BITSAA International Scholarship recipients

Bhushan-Bhatia Scholarships (50% tuition fee)

§         Sivaganga Prasad Savarala, Information Systems, BITS Pilani,

§         Kutcharlapati Swapna, Civil Engineering, BITS Pilani

Ashok Agarwal Scholarship (Full tuition fee)

§         Gogireddy Kiranmai, M.Sc. (Chemistry), BITS-Pilani, Hyderabad

Rakesh Chandra Scholarship (Full tuition fee)

§         Mohit Asudani, Computer Science and Engineering, BITS Pilani

Hiralal Agarwal Memorial Scholarship (Full tuition fee)

§         Ashutosh Pandey, Mechanical Engineering, BITS, Pilani

Travel Scholarships

§         G.. Prashant Reddy (BITS Pilani) was awarded USD 1000 to pursue thesis at Georgia Institute of Technology, GA, USA

§         Chhavi Adtani (BITS Pilani) received a grant of INR 37,500 to present a paper at the International Conference on Autonomous Robots and Agents, Massey University , Wellington  

§         Gaurav Singh (BITS-Pilani Goa) was awarded USD 450 as a loan scholarship to attend ASME Student Professional Development Conference at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.

§         Subramanian (BITS Pilani) was awarded INR 8500 to present a paper at IEEE Nanotechnology Council, Shenzen

§         Arpit Sharma (BITS Pilani) received a grant of INR 9375 to present a paper at International Conference on Public Policy and Sustainable Developer, Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia .                   

These scholarships have been created from generous donations by alumni like you. The Bhushan-Bhatia scholarships have been created by Brij Bhushan, an alumnus of the Class of 1964 to support the education of two needy students through an endowment donated to BITSAA International. Brij graduated from Pilani in December 1964 and subsequently taught there from 1966 to 1969 and had a return engagement during Fall 2006.

Dr. Ashok Agarwal instituted the Ashok Agarwal scholarship to fund the yearly tuition fee of a meritorious needy student at BITS-Pilani, Hyderabad campus. Ashok graduated from BITS in 1964 with a Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering..

Rakesh Chandra has created the Rakesh Chandra Scholarship to cover the tuition fee of a meritorious needy student at BITS Pilani. Rakesh graduated from BITS Pilani in 1964 with a Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering.

Bhasker D. Agarwal of the Class of 1970 has created an endowment to fund the Hiralal Agarwal Memorial Scholarship to cover the full tuition fee of a needy student hailing from Faizabad district, Uttar Pradesh.

We take this opportunity to thank these alumni for their continued support. BITSAA International’s mission is to ensure that no student at BITS, Pilani is denied a holistic educational experience and the opportunity to compete with the best due to a lack of funds.  You can help us achieve our mission and personally impact the life of a student by creating a scholarship or by donating to the BITSAA International Corpus Fund and other initiatives.

Click here to know more about BITSAA International Scholarships. If you are interested in creating a scholarship please email scholarships@ If you wish to donate to the BITSAA International Corpus Fund please contactfundraising- team@bitsaa. .org.

Impact a life. Create a scholarship. .


Uzma Barlaskar

Manager, Scholarships

The BITSAA Scholarships Team


BITS Batch


BITSAA Job Title

Uzma Hussain Barlaskar


B.E. (Hons.) Computer Science


Ashwin Gowda


Master of Management Studies and B.E.(Hons.) Chemical Engineering


Sairam Sankaran


B.E. (Hons.) Mechanical Engineering

Team Leader

Mayank Mohta


B.E. (Hons.) Computer Science

Volunteer, Pilani

Barath Chandrashekar


B.E. (Hons.) Electrical & Electronics Engineering

Volunteer, Pilani

Shalini Dwivedi


B.E.(Hons.) Chemical Engineering

Volunteer, Goa

Vivaswan Pathak


B.E. (Hons.) Computer Science

Volunteer, Hyderabad

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Forgot your username?

Bridges to the Future







Multimedia Gallery
Prominent Chapters
Prominent Initiatives
© Copyright 2008-2013 BITSAA International
Privacy Policy